What is the Zayed Award for Human Fraternity?

It is an international independent award that recognizes profound contributions to the facilitation of peaceful coexistence and human progress. The award is for individuals anywhere in the world who lead by example, creating breakthroughs by collaborating selflessly and tirelessly across divides to drive real, conviction-led progress.

Each year, the recipient(s) will be presented with a USD $1 million, an honorary certificate, and a trophy.

Who is Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan?

The late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan founded the United Arab Emirates in 1971. His life was dedicated to working closely with people from all cultural backgrounds. His legacy remains one of compassion, respect, and innovation - values that to this day shape the culture of the people and leadership of the UAE.

When was the Zayed Award for Human Fraternity created?

The award was established in February 2019 when His Eminence Professor Ahmed Al-Tayeb, Grand Imam of Al-Azhar, and His Holiness Pope Francis, Head of the Catholic Church, met together in Abu Dhabi to sign the Document on Human Fraternity. The Document is a visionary joint declaration built upon friendship and mutual respect. It calls for human fraternity, interfaith dialogue, and communication.

Is this the first time the Zayed Award for Human Fraternity has been awarded?

The Zayed Award for Human Fraternity was first awarded honorarily in 2019 to Grand Imam of Al-Azhar His Eminence Ahmed Al-Tayeb and the Head of the Catholic Church His Holiness Pope Francis following their historic signing of the Document on Human Fraternity in Abu Dhabi. The 2021 cycle was the first time the award opened to nominations from all parts of the world and the honorees were UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres, and Latifa Ibn Ziaten founder of the IMAD Association and an activist against religious extremism. The 2022 honorees were Their Majesties King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein and Queen Rania Al Abdullah of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, alongside Haitian humanitarian organization the Foundation for Knowledge and Liberty (FOKAL).

What are the categories for the award?

There are no separate categories. It is a single award that will go to the nominee(s) (individual or entity) that best meets the criteria as evaluated by the award committee.

What will the winner or winners of the award receive?

There is a prize of USD $1 million to be awarded to a single recipient, or shared among multiple recipients, in addition to an honorary certificate and a trophy.

Who can make a nomination?

Only qualified nominators can nominate candidates for the award. Nominators must be:

  • A member of government or a current or former head of state
  • A member of parliament
  • The president of a Supreme Court
  • A member of the Higher Committee of Human Fraternity
  • A UN senior executive
  • The head of an international NGO
  • A university president
  • A Zayed Award for Human Fraternity awardee
  • An intellectual, spiritual or cultural leader

Nominations from qualified nominators can be submitted without invitation.

Nominators will be required to upload official documentation confirming eligibility to nominate. Self-nominations are not accepted.

What are the criteria for evaluating nominations?

Each nomination application submitted will be evaluated by the judging committee based upon the following judging criteria:

  • Contributions to the promotion of global fraternity, solidarity of the human family, justice and world peace
  • Impact on the local community, serving as a role model and also shaping others to become role models
  • Innovation to find new ways to foster fraternity and collaboration
  • Recognition from notable figures and/or international organizations and institutions and/or community members

Who decides the recipient(s) of the award?

The independent judging committee decides on the recipient(s) of the award. Each year, the judging committee for the Zayed Award for Human Fraternity is composed of a group of prominent figures in the areas of peacebuilding and human coexistence.

Who is the judging committee for the 2021 award?

  • H.E. Catherine Samba-Panza, former President of the Central African Republic
  • H.E. Muhammad Jusuf Kalla, former Vice-President of the Republic of Indonesia
  • Rt. Hon. Michaelle Jean, 27th Governor-General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada
  • H.Em Cardinal Dominique Mamberti, Prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura.
  • Adama Dieng, Former UN Special Adviser on the Prevention of Genocide
  • Judge Mohamed Abdelsalam, Secretary-General of the Higher Committee of Human Fraternity

Who is the judging committee for the 2022 award?

  • H.E. Mahamadou Issoufou, Former President of the Republic of Niger
  • H.E. José Ramos Horta, Former President of East Timor and Nobel Peace Laureate
  • H.E. Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, UN Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director of UN Women
  • H.Em Cardinal Michael Czerny, Interim Prefect of the Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development at the Holy See
  • Dr. Leah Pisar, President of the Aladdin Project
  • Judge Mohamed Abdelsalam, Secretary General of the Higher Committee of Human Fraternity

Who can be nominated for the award?

Any individual or entity that has made a profound contribution to the facilitation of human fraternity may be nominated for the award.

When will the recipient(s) of the award be announced?

The recipient(s) will be announced on February 2023 in conjunction with the International Day of Human Fraternity, on February 4 which was proclaimed by the United Nations General Assembly to celebrate the ongoing efforts of leaders and benevolent people of promoting peace, harmony, and intercultural dialogue across the world